The Best Places to Live in Tokyo: Ikebukuro (池袋)

by scout84journalist

Great article, I want to visit Tokyo now…well, I need a little time for that, but I’m trying to working on it.

Tokyo Desu

This is the third in a series of articles about the best places to live in Tokyo, written by people who live – or have recently lived – there. We’ve also covered KoenjiKanda and Ueno

Love your Tokyo neighbourhood? Tell us why in 600 words and we’ll post it under your name! (email Tokyo_Desu@hotmail.com).

Ikebukuro (pic: Shutterstock) Ikebukuro (pic: Shutterstock)

By Simon Wright

I don’t want to give you the wrong idea about Ikebukuro, enough people probably already have. But it’s only fair you are told the full story, or at least a more balanced one, rather than just the sugary fluff a Google search can provide.

Usually when I tell a Japanese person that I live in Ikebukuro, there is a slight pause in the conversation before they respond with shifting eyes, “Great shopping there”, which can be fairly accurately translated as, “That’s the dirty foreign part of town”…

View original post 606 more words

